Phriday Photos

Today’s Phriday Photo is coming a bit delayed cos I did not have a usb key with me at work. I spent the first hour photoshoping photos on my laptop in the office because I still didn’t have access to my workstation yet. But anyways, here it is, much delayed:

Media_httpfarm1static_hhuni

Concerning the issue of love and 1 John 4, I read this yesterday when I was going through the October issue of Christianity Today:

Everywhere, people are looking for community, for relationships of love.?? This is a challenge to our fellowship.?? I’m very fond of 1 John 4:12: “No one has ever seen God; if we love one another, God abides in us, and his love is perfected in us.”?? The invisibility of God is a great problem to people.?? The question is how has God solved the problem of his own invisibility??? First, Christ has made the invisible God visible.?? That’s John’s Gospel 1:18: “No one has ever seen God; the only God, who is at the Father’s side, he has made him known.”People say that’s wonderful, but it was 2,000 ago.?? So in 1 John 4:12, he begins with exactly the same formula, nobody has ever seen God.?? But here John goes on, “If we love one another, God abides in us.”?? The same invisible God who once made himself visible in Jesus now makes himself visible in the Christian community, if we love one another.?? And all the verbal proclamation of the gospepl is of little value unless it is made by a community of love.

-John Stott, Evangelism Plus (pg.97, October 2006, Christianity Today)The most interesting thing I just learned from that article was that John Stott is a life-long bachelor.?? Wow–that’s just, unbelievable… I did not know that there was a living, breathing, theological mentor of mine that was given the gift of singleness.?? How did??I miss this…??and how did he do it??? LOL?? I can’t wrap my head around it!?? Part of me thinks, “Poor guy!” but another part of me thinks, “Amazing, that’s one real man of God!”

Leave a Reply

