Why Can???t We All Just Get Along?

Media_httpfarm1static_oglwh

My sister and I had a bad argument about church on Sunday during lunch. We’ve reconciled about it a bit, but I’m sure she’s still a bit edge-y about it. It’s bothered her so much that she blogged about it. I don’t blame her; much of what she says is valid. Even though she doesn’t really understand where I come from every time I do open my mouth, I understand where she’s coming from — and it humbles me that I could very well be wrong a lot about the things I have complained about in the past.I only wish she could see what I see every time I have theological conversations (arguments, really) about doctrine and theology, what I picture in my head when I think about the church in all its supposed beauty, why I would ever consider giving up my own selfish ambitions to live for and die for the Body: Christ on the Cross — He who purchased the church with His very own blood.While my sister and I were not arguing about orthodoxy and heterodoxy, it is apt to quote a spiritual mentor of mine, Dr. John MacArthur, at this time. He recently tried answering this very question about unity between those who hold to historic Christian orthodoxy and biblical Christianity — and those who are aberrant and try to turn others away from truth. Here’s how Dr. MacArthur put it:

As Christians we must understand that whatever opposes God???s Word or departs from it in any way is a danger to the very cause of truth. Passivity toward known error is not an option for the Christian. Staunch intolerance of error is built into the very fabric of Scripture. And tolerance of known error is anything but a virtue.Jesus clearly and unashamedly affirmed the utter exclusivity of Christianity. He said, ???I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me??? (John 14:6). ???Nor is there salvation in any other, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved??? (Acts 4:12). Obviously, that sort of exclusivity is fundamentally incompatible with post-modern tolerance.Truth and error cannot be combined to yield something beneficial. Truth and error are as incompatible as light and darkness. ???What fellowship has righteousness with lawlessness? And what communion has light with darkness? And what accord has Christ with Belial? Or what part has a believer with an unbeliever? And what agreement has the temple of God with idols???? (2 Corinthians 6:14-16).We can???t tell the world, ???This is truth, but whatever you want to believe is fine, too.” It???s not fine. Scripture commands us to be intolerant of any idea that denies the truth.Lest anyone misunderstand, I???m not defending dogmatism on any and every theological issue. Some things in Scripture are not perfectly clear. But the central teachings of Scripture (in particular, those things related to the way of salvation) are so simple and so clear that even a child can understand.

Continue reading the article here. Agree or disagree? I think MacArthur hits the spot right on.

Leave a Reply

