Arrived Alive

Hello y’all!

Media_httpfarm1static_qiagh

While most of my brothers and sisters from my home church are away to Oakville, Ontario for the church summer conference, I am in Louisville, KY with my parents and sister. I’m moving in this weekend into my dorm room — purposed to spend the next 3yrs pursuing a Master of Divinity at Southern Seminary.Thirteen HoursI must say, it was a long 13 hour drive in from Toronto to Louisville. We left home late this morning, just before 9am. Crossing the Ambassador Bridge at Windsor/Detroit took over an hour! We started waiting in line to cross the bridge at ~12:40pm and didn’t cross it until almost 2pm. And then at Customs, I had to wait in line for almost an hour, waiting to get my Visa (I-20) processed and get an extra card stuck to my passport to prove my status as a student.Thus, we didn’t leave Customs until like 3pm! LOL Talk about a long day of waiting:S Since we were delayed so much already, we ended up picking up Wendy’s along the way and ate in the car while driving down I-75… all 30 pieces of chicken nuggets that is!CincinnatiAfter some more traffic delays on the I-75 due to construction/lane restrictions, we arrived in Cincinnati around 7pm. I needed to get a new laptop from the Apple Store there, and thus we stopped at the Kenwood Town Centre to buy it and get dinner. Boy oh boy, is that a posh mall for rich yuppies! Ok, maybe not so much “urban” professionals, but still, all the stores there are just soo… for them wealthy middle-class folks!Anyways, praise be to God and thanks be to my dad, I now am typing on a new, white MacBook, loaded with a Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz cpu, 2gb ram, and a 120gb hdd 🙂 (My sister gets the free iPod nano that came with it lol) It’s so good to just walk into a store and know exactly what I want, and find a nice salesperson like Bert to get it for me!For dinner, my sister saw “Chick-fil-A” in the mall directory and thus, we just had to — like, we really must! — get Chick-fil-A for dinner! And so, that’s what we just did. More chicken for dinner =DLouisvilleWhich brings us to Southern Seminary. We arrived on the campus of SBTS around 10pm, and we are staying at the Legacy Center (the on-campus hotel & conference center) until Tuesday morning when my family leaves back for Toronto. I’ll probably move my stuff in starting tomorrow/Sunday, once Security opens up the door for me… and I’ll should be sleeping in my own bed tomorrow night too!For Sunday Service, we’ll be attending Sojourn Community Church. I’ve heard many good things about this artsy SBC church from Shuling and fellow students on the Facebook SBTS network. I’m looking forward to getting a taste of the kind of music that is lead there for worship, and also interested to hear what kind of preaching is done there. Hopefully, I can post some thoughts on this later.For now, I’m just very thankful that we have arrived alive in Louisville. It’s all by His grace, this journey and this pilgrimage to Southern. These family road trips has a way of bringing the frustrations out of everybody in the family, myself included. Praying before driving off always feels weird, because it just seems like we are asking God to sign off on our trip and just give us His stamp of approval. I wish we depended and trusted more on Him before, during and after the long drive, but it’s too late for this now.Nevertheless, I think God answered my silent prayers of desperate dependence, as we are resting peacefully after being delivered by His sovereign grace. Thank you, Jesus!

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.Galatians 2:20

Leave a Reply

