Worship through Song

Media_httpfarm1static_huwgc

We sang a couple “new” songs today at church — one more than we usually do!

  • O Praise Him (Crowder)
  • Wonderful Maker (Redman)

The band arrangement was changed up a little this morning. Our lead worshiper who is usually on guitar led & played keyboard, and our usual keyboardist played drums (which didn’t turn out too well). But during O Praise Him, I came to this realization:If I had the musical gifts and talents to play piano, guitar, and drums all very well, and the financial resources to have all those fancy instruments at my disposal… I would be seeking out God’s calling on my life to use my musical gifts for the church and for His glory; I would pursue theological training in church music/worship; I would try to bring as many people to Christ through music as I possibly can.I wouldn’t just be sitting around, enjoying the material fruits of my 9-5 job, and making sure every part of the American dream is fulfilled in my life (big house, fancy car, beautiful wife, 2.5 kids, cat/dog, white picket fence) and only serve God as necessary 1 or 2 times a month at church. I’d be forfeiting all these yuppy comforts and risking my life to see how much I can truly use my hands to further His kingdom.But that’s just me. I wouldn’t want to waste my life.

But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ. Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ…Philippians 3:7-8

Fortunately, I don’t have such musical talents or money for fancy instruments and don’t need to wrestle with God on this issue 🙂 My prayers to you if you do.

Leave a Reply

