New Year’s Mannequin

Media_httpfarm3static_pybjm

So far, the new year of 2008 has been spent reading, reading, and catching up on one of my favorite movies, Mannequin, from 1987. Yes–the movie came out in 1987, and it’s me and my sister’s fave movies from our childhood days. We have it on vhs tape somehwere in the house, but I finally found a good avi version of it online. We spent a part of the afternoon on New Years day to watch it with a close friend from church.

The storyline:

Jonathan Switcher is a young artist. He just doesn’t seem to last in any job he does. But when he builds a mannequin, he makes it so perfect, he falls in love with it. It is the first thing he has made that makes him feel like a real artist. The mannequin ends up in the window of a big department store. When he saves the life of an old lady who happens to be the owner of that store, he is rewarded by getting a job at the store as stock boy. Later the mannequin comes to life as Emmy, who was an ancient Egyptian living in the year 2514BC. The two fall in love and redesign the window display to make it most eye catching in town. The store competitors are not happy and will do anything to stop them!What me and my sister never realized about this movie in all the previous times we watched it as kids, was that it is full of sexual language and idioms — though they were used in humorous ways that make this romantic comedy all the more hilarious (and outrageous)! And certainly, it is evident that the character Hollywood is gay:( All things considered, Mannequin would have been a movie that would have been very risque in 1987! Nevertheless, if you haven’t seen this movie, it’s a short and light-hearted one that would remind you of the 80s :-)Here are some memorable quotes from the movie, including some language that is not safe for young children:

Jonathan: A radio shrink? They’re only good for people with problems that fit between the commercials.-[coming out of the elevator]Jonathan: Easy Felix. I don’t think she’s armed!-Jonathan Switcher: That teaches him to mess with a man and his mannequin.-[Felix has just discovered Jonathan making love to Emmy while she has assumed mannequin form]Felix: [to Jonathan] You are one… sick… puppy!-Hollywood Montrose: You know I would never interrupt you when you’re getting a piece of wood…-Armand: Roxy! Roxy, Roxy. You know what you need to do right now? You need to put him and this whole nasty affair out of your mind. Now, how is the best way to do that, huh? Huh? By having a night of distastable sex with someone you care absolutely nothing about! And proudly, I would like to be that person.Roxie Shield: Fine, let’s just go to your place.Armand: Really?Roxie Shield: Drive fast before I have second thoughts!Armand: Armand is the wind!-[Jonathan is explaining to Roxie about the first time Emmy came to life]Roxie Shield: You could’ve decided to tell me that you wanted to stand me up. Instead you come here to be lying with this ridiculous story!Jonathan Switcher: I’m not lying. I’m insane.-[Hollywood just caught Jonathan kissing Emmy as she assumes mannequin form]Hollywood Montrose: At least she’ll never tell you that your hips are too fat.-[Hollywood is crying in the ladies’ room shortly after Jonathan’s promotion]Mrs. Thomas: Who’s crying?Lupe: It’s either our new vice-president, the fairy… OR THE DUMMY!-Mannequin Factory Boss: You know you could get the dummy of the week award Switcher.Jonathan Switcher: She turned out pretty good, didn’t she.Mannequin Factory Boss: I wasn’t talking about her.-Roxie Shield: I’m not the one who can’t deal with reality.Jonathan Switcher: Reality is very disappointing.-Jonathan Switcher: What time do you open?Mrs. Claire Prince Timkin: We are open.-Jonathan Switcher: I’m helping Hollywood with the window.Felix: Oh the little Mary has an assistant now? Where do you people come from?Jonathan Switcher: Ohio.-Hollywood Montrose: Don’t let Felix get to you, he’s just got a bad case of Miami Vice.-Jonathan Switcher: Hollywood I don’t know about men’s thighs, they look fine to me.Hollywood Montrose: Albert called me ‘cellulite city’.-Ema ‘Emmy’ Hesire: I just wish you didn’t look so worried.Jonathan Switcher: That’s easy for you to say. You’re a mannequin, you’ll always have work.-Mr. Richards: You people that work at night scare me.-Ema ‘Emmy’ Hesire: [Looking at stereo system playing] Where do they hide all the musicians?-Ema ‘Emmy’ Hesire: Didn’t I tell you, you’re the only one who can see me like this.-Mrs. Claire Prince Timkin: I don’t care if he puts a rubber glove on his head and runs naked around the store screaming, ‘Hi! I’m a squid!’-Felix: Mr. Richards, you better put some camouflage on.Mr. Richards: I am not putting shoe polish on my face, thank you.

Leave a Reply

