Emerging Missional Fallacies in Postmodern Exegesis

Earlier in the fall of 2007, I was invited by Rev. Ken Silva (SBC) of Apprising Ministries to serve as a correspondent for his online apologetic ministry. This past December, I finally responded to his invite and committed to writing 1-2 articles on the Emerging Church every month starting in January 2008. However, due to my busy January schedule and the extremely busy Spring semester here at Southern Seminary, I thus have yet to publish anything. I sincerely apologize for not living up to my self-proclaimed commitment and for my lack of foresight into my schedule.Please know that my first responsibility is to my seminary studies; at the same time, please also pray that what I share with you here would be a fruit of and an overflow from the countless hours I spend reading the Scriptures and books on theology.

Emerging Missional Fallacies

On that note, I am excited to write to you concerning the Emerging Church and postmodern theology! In this opening half of the year, I will share with you how I came into contact with Emerging theology and the things that have led me to confront evangelical accommodation in today???s postmodern culture. Although I was very eager to write to you about the beliefs of Emerging churches, I found it necessary to write appealing to Emerging pastors to contend for the faith that was once for all delivered to the saints.For there are certain pastors who have crept unnoticed into the church that are reading their own personal desired interpretation and ideas into the Bible???s text, ideas that are not necessarily extra-biblical but rather extra-textual to the passage preached on. These usually result from careless exegetical fallacies that remove the text from its original context (cf. D. A. Carson, Exegetical Fallacies. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1996). More specifically, I am concerned about ordained ministers of God???s Word are eisegeting an Emerging missional ecclesiology into the New Testament ??? where as 2000 years of biblical scholarship have found no explicit ???missional??? meanings in such passages whatsoever.(Read the rest of this article.)

Leave a Reply

