Trying to make this Truth a Reality

From Reading the Psalms with Luther(St. Louis, MO: Concordia, 2007):

The 116th psalm is a psalm of thanks in which the psalmist is joyful and gives thanks that God has heard his prayer and has rescued him from the distress of death and the anguish of hell.?? Like several other psalms before it, it speaks of the deep spiritual affliction, of which few people know.He laments in this psalm that things are so bad, yet he confesses his faith and the truth of God.?? He calls all human holiness, virtue, and confidence only falsehood and emptiness.?? This world will not and cannot hear nor tolerate.?? Thus it comes that the godly suffer, tremble, and fear all kinds of misfortune.But despite all, he is comforted by this, that God’s Word is true and will only motivate us the more: “They give me to drink from the cup of their wrath.?? All right, then I will take the cup of grace and salvation and drink myself spiritually drunk (and through preaching) pour out from this cup on those who will drink with me and who draw their grace from the Word.” This is our cup, and with this cup we will worship God and praise His name.?? We will fulfill our vows, namely the First Commandment, that we receive Him as the one God and praise Him as the only God worthy to preach and to be called upon.?? You find here also that giving thanks, preaching, and confessing God’s name before all people is the true worship of God.

Psalm 116: I Love the Lord

1 I love the Lord, because he has heardmy voice and my pleas for mercy.2 Because he inclined his ear to me,therefore I will call on him as long as I live.3 The snares of death encompassed me;the pangs of Sheol laid hold on me;I suffered distress and anguish.4 Then I called on the name of the Lord:???O Lord, I pray, deliver my soul!???5 Gracious is the Lord, and righteous;our God is merciful.6 The Lord preserves the simple;when I was brought low, he saved me.7 Return, O my soul, to your rest;for the Lord has dealt bountifully with you.8 For you have delivered my soul from death,my eyes from tears,my feet from stumbling;9 I will walk before the Lordin the land of the living.10 I believed, even when I spoke,???I am greatly afflicted???;11 I said in my alarm,???All mankind are liars.???12 What shall I render to the Lordfor all his benefits to me?13 I will lift up the cup of salvationand call on the name of the Lord,14 I will pay my vows to the Lordin the presence of all his people.15 Precious in the sight of the Lordis the death of his saints.16 O Lord, I am your servant;I am your servant, the son of your maidservant.You have loosed my bonds.17 I will offer to you the sacrifice of thanksgivingand call on the name of the Lord.18 I will pay my vows to the Lordin the presence of all his people,19 in the courts of the house of the Lord,in your midst, O Jerusalem.Praise the Lord!

I give thanks to You, my God, who has hitherto graciously and mightily helped us in all our needs.?? Be my refuge and my help, and when my last day comes, grant that I fall asleep commending my soul into the hands of Your Son, Jesus Christ, confident that through His name my death is precious in Your sight.?? Amen.

Leave a Reply

