Our Misery, God’s Mercy

The Misery of Job and the Mercy of God

Job 40:1-2

And the Lord said to Job:

2 ???Shall a faultfinder contend with the Almighty?He who argues with God, let him answer it.???

Job 42:1-6

Then Job answered the Lord and said:

2 ???I know that you can do all things,and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted.3 ???Who is this that hides counsel without knowledge????Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand,things too wonderful for me, which I did not know.4 ???Hear, and I will speak;I will question you, and you make it known to me.???5 I had heard of you by the hearing of the ear,but now my eye sees you;6 therefore I despise myself,and repent in dust and ashes.???

James 5:11

Behold, we consider those blessed who remained steadfast. You have heard of the steadfastness of Job, and you have seen the purpose of the Lord, how the Lord is compassionate and merciful.

When God creates a humble hush,And makes Leviathan his brush,It won???t be long before the rodBecomes the tender kiss of God.

What we have lost God will restore ???That, and Himself, forevermore,When he is finished with his art,The silent worship of our heart.

Poetry by John Piper; illustrations by Christopher Koelle.

Leave a Reply

