Joy Comes with the Morning

Psalm 30:

A Psalm of David. A song at the dedication of the temple.

According to the title, David composed Psalm 30 for the dedication of the temple (an event that took place after David died, 1 Kings 8:63). The temple does not figure much in the psalm itself, except for the address to fellow worshipers in Ps. 30:4. The theme of the whole psalm is one of personal thanksgiving for God’s repeated care and deliverance over the course of a life; the title makes the concrete situation of David’s experience the background, and the worshipers can liken their own experiences to his. ((ESV Study Bible))This psalm praises God for rescue from a life-threatening crisis of which we catch only glimpses. The sequence is as follows: the poet???s praise of God for deliverance from a life-threatening illness (vv. 1???3); call to the community of believers to praise God (vv. 4???5); recollection of the speaker???s ill-founded self-confidence before his crisis (vv. 6???7); petition to God to save the speaker???s life (vv. 8???10); praise of God for deliverance (vv. 11???12). ((ESV Literary Study Bible))

1 I will extol you, O Lord, for you have drawn me upand have not let my foes rejoice over me.2 O Lord my God, I cried to you for help,and you have healed me.3 O Lord, you have brought up my soul from Sheol;you restored me to life from among those who go down to the pit.

4 Sing praises to the Lord, O you his saints,and give thanks to his holy name.5 For his anger is but for a moment,and his favor is for a lifetime.Weeping may tarry for the night,but joy comes with the morning.

6 As for me, I said in my prosperity,???I shall never be moved.???7 By your favor, O Lord,you made my mountain stand strong;you hid your face;I was dismayed.

8 To you, O Lord, I cry,and to the Lord I plead for mercy:9 ???What profit is there in my death,if I go down to the pit?Will the dust praise you?Will it tell of your faithfulness?10 Hear, O Lord, and be merciful to me!O Lord, be my helper!???

11 You have turned for me my mourning into dancing;you have loosed my sackclothand clothed me with gladness,12 that my glory may sing your praise and not be silent.O Lord my God, I will give thanks to you forever!

Leave a Reply

