Goodnight, goodnight till then!

I had the privilege of seeing Matthew Smith (founding member of Indelible Grace) in concert last night. ??One song he performed was a new song from his latest album; it’s called “Goodnight“. ??It speaks powerfully about dying well as believers in the present age and looking forward to the kingdom to come in heaven with Christ. Watch Matthew Smith’s comments about this new song:

Matthew Smith talks about the song “Goodnight” from Matthew Smith on Vimeo.

Lyrics below:

I journey forth rejoicingFrom this dark vale of tears,To heavenly joy and freedom,From earthly bonds and fears;Where Christ our Lord shall gatherAll His redeemed again,His kingdom to inherit.Goodnight, goodnight till then!

Why thus so sadly weeping,Beloved ones of my heart?The Lord is good and gracious,Though now He bids us part.Oft have we met in gladness.And we shall meet again,All sorrow left behind us.Goodnight, goodnight till then!

I go to see His glory,Whom we have loved below:I go, the blessed angels,The holy saints to know.Our lovely ones departed,I go to find again,And wait for you to join us.Goodnight, goodnight till then!

I hear the Saviour calling,The joyful hour has come:The angel guards are readyTo guide me to our home,Where Christ our Lord shall gatherAll His redeemed again,His kingdom to inherit.I journey forth rejoicingFrom this dark vale of tears,To heavenly joy and freedom,From earthly bonds and fears;Where Christ our Lord shall gatherAll His redeemed again,His kingdom to inherit.Goodnight, goodnight till then!

Why thus so sadly weeping,Beloved ones of my heart?The Lord is good and gracious,Though now He bids us part.Oft have we met in gladness.And we shall meet again,All sorrow left behind us.Goodnight, goodnight till then!

I go to see His glory,Whom we have loved below:I go, the blessed angels,The holy saints to know.Our lovely ones departed,I go to find again,And wait for you to join us.Goodnight, goodnight till then!

I hear the Saviour calling,The joyful hour has come:The angel guards are readyTo guide me to our home,Where Christ our Lord shall gatherAll His redeemed again,His kingdom to inherit.Goodnight, goodnight till then!Written by Matthew S. Smith.??2010 Detuned Radio MusicBased in part on a hymn text by an unknown German writer, translated by Jane Borthwick.

Leave a Reply

