The Christian Hedonist Takes a Wife

Our God has made another way To put his glory on display. His goodness shines with brightest rays When we delight in all his ways. His glory overflows its rim When we are satisfied in him. His radiance will fill the earth When people revel in his worth. The beauty of God’s holy fire Burns brightest in the heart’s desire.

I am a Christian Hedonist Because I know that if I kissed My wife simply because it’s right, And not because it’s my delight, It would not honor her so well. With pleasures I will praise Noël, And I will magnify my wife By making her my joy in life.

So may this blazing, God-like flame Ignite in us for his great name A holy passion, zeal and fire That magnify him with desire.
I hail him as my joy in life, And take from his pure hand my wife.

John Piper, Velvet Steel, pg.22-23.

Leave a Reply

