An anonymous message

Short_shorts

 
Dear co-laborers, 

This anonymous message just arrived in my hands; it was dropped in the offering box & given to me by Church Admin Assistant. It was written on an old Church Bulletin, but was recently used to write this message:

For the past 2 weeks and this week, I noticed a few young ladies wear very short shorts. Please remind them this is not quite appropriate for the Sunday Service, and other Church activities.

think this is being directed towards me, even though it has no TO or FROM, nor can I discern who the message is referring to.

Original Issue: Modesty of girls dress. Yes that is being addressed continually; individually & corporately.

Consequent Issue: How one communicates your concern with the original issue.

^ Whoever wrote this, I cannot tell WHO it is that has a concern with WHOM.  Such a concern brought up anonymously just invalidated itself, being anonymous.

1. Speak to the girl(s) individually.
2. Speak to her parents personally.
3. Come speak to me directly, having done #1 & #2
I am not the children’s dad. If one has a complaint against another, humbly confront them. Don’t call upon me to parent children who are not my own. As an issue of Christian conscience, I shall shepherd my sheep accordingly. But I am not paid to be a third parent.

“If your brother sins against you, go and tell him his fault, between you and him alone. If he listens to you, you have gained your brother. But if he does not listen, take one or two others along with you, that every charge may be established by the evidence of two or three witnesses. If he refuses to listen to them, tell it to the church.  (Matthew 18:15-17 ESV)

Thank you for your understanding and patience.
Let us be biblical & Christ-like even in responding to such issues.
Grace and peace,
ALEX S. LEUNG: Youth Minister, Tri-Valley Chinese Bible Church
phone: 925-575-7506           web: www.sixsteps.org
facebook: alex.leung             twitter: @sixsteps

Sent from my Mac

Leave a Reply

