Touch Not the Glory!

A few years back when I used to ‘lead worship’ on stage at my home church, there was one time after a Friday night corporate worship time that my Missions Deacon gave me a big hug after the service. It was our church’s annual Missions Conference weekend, and the songs I had lead with my worship team were very well executed that evening with little noticeable mistakes, and quite simply, the Spirit really worked to convey the message that Jesus alone is the hope of the nations.

Immediately after the last song had finished and the congregation was dismissed, the Missions Deacon quickly came up to me and hugged me, thanking me for leading such a great time of singing. While I know he meant well, I tried to shrug it off, humbly thanking him for his thankfulness, and replying that I was only doing what I was called to do and that the one who had really led us all to praise God was Jesus Himself. Continue reading